I HATE Sports (day)

Posted on July 14, 2012

2


Today, my very un-sporty school decided to hold a whole day DEDICATED to the one thing I hate: Sports (Day). You should know from many, many previous posts that I completely and utterly despise sports, and whenever I have to do anything sporty, I come and rant about it on here. So here goes:

I really see no point in Sports Day. You compete in pointless events only to find out that everyone else is better at it than you. And what is the point of been better than someone else in one of the stupid events that we take part in? Does it show that you are exceptionally good at running? Wow, you can run faster than me, so what?

Here are some of the events that I was forced take part in today at gunpoint. Honestly, I wouldn’t bother reading if I were you, they are all so dull.

  • Throw a very pointy thingy into the ground (the bouncing baffoon in a blue tracksuit and a whistle around his neck that he never stops blowing, especially when he directs the blowing and shouting voice at me (which is most of the time), calls it Javelin)
  • Throw a very heavy ball (a.k.a. Shot-put)
  • Jump over a metal rod (groans. High Jump)
  • Jump over many little things (Yay. What fun. Hurdles)
  • Jump over a sandpit (How childish. Long Jump)
  • Run (100m, 200m, 400m)
    I can see the point in this event, because it trains you for running away from  stealing cakes from your neighbours windowsill, but the other events are truly pointless.
So while I was moving slowly around the pitch, dodging the pointy things that were hurtling towards me at 100 mph, falling over while attempting to pick up the heavy ball (shot-put), inflicting agonising pain upon myself while landing on the metal rod (High Jump. WOW that REALLY hurts when you land on the pole if you knock it off), crawling underneath the hurdles, getting a face full of sand in the long jump and spraining my ankle, and finally loosing all my breath in the running track events, I was crying silently inside, thinking ‘how could anyone inflict so much torture on a small innocent kid like me?’
The sandpit jump was also despised by half of the kids in my class, because they have something that does not mix well with sand: afros. To their horror, I pointed out that their curly afros were dripping with sand, and they shared my hate on this event.

Do any other teenagers actually enjoy sports day? I mean why would you? Leave some comments on your thoughts on sports day!